Wyoming Democrats Elect New Leadership

Wyoming Democrats Elect New Leadership


Contact: Joe Barbuto


Cheyenne, WY - On Saturday April 8, 2017 the Wyoming Democratic Party Central Committee gathered in Sheridan to elect party leadership and take the first step into a stronger WDP in 2018.


Joe M Barbuto of Rock Springs, a former member of the Wyoming Legislature and previous Chairman of the Sweetwater County Democratic Party, will serve as the newly elected Chair of the Wyoming Democratic Party.


“This is an incredible opportunity to serve my party and state. I look forward to working with the executive committee, staff, and county parties to ensure that Wyoming has a strong and productive Democratic Party.”


He also thanked former Chair Ana Cuprill for her service over the past three years.


“I speak for many when I say how grateful I am for Ana’s passion, commitment, and dedicated service to the Democratic Party.”


Other newly elected officers include longtime party activist and former candidate for HD14 Erin O’Doherty as newly elected Vice Chair, Cheyenne union leader Truett Thompson as Secretary, and UW American Indian Studies Program Director Chris Caskey Russell as Treasurer.


"It’s exciting to be working with such a talented group of people. They all bring so much to the table with regards to backgrounds, professional experiences, and skills. There’s a lot of work ahead, but I know these folks are more than up to the task.”


Courtesy of the Equality State Policy Center